Registration is closed.

Entry Registration

Entry registration is closed.

BJCP 2008 Judging Styles

If a styles's name is hyperlinked, it has specific entry requirements. Click or tap on the name to view the subcategory's requirements.

29A 1 - Sweet or Malty beers (Custom Style)30A 2A - Hoppy Beers (Custom Style)31A 2B- Hop Monsters (Custom Style)
32A 3A - Session Beers (Custom Style)33A 3B - Lawnmower beers (Custom Style)34A 4A - Strong Beers (Custom Style)
35A 4B - Big & Boozy (Custom Style)36A 5A - Dark-colored beers (Custom Style)37A 5B - Roasty beers (Custom Style)
38A 6 - Yeasty beers (Custom Style)39A 7 - Lagers (Custom Style)40A 8A - Sour beers (Custom Style)
41A 8B - Smoky beers (Custom Style)42A 8C - Fruit beers (Custom Style)43A 8D - Spiced beers (Custom Style)
44A 8E - Other beers (Custom Style)45A 9A - Meads (Custom Style)46A 9B - Ciders (Custom Style)
47A 10 - Open Category (Custom Style)48A 11 - The Crusade (Custom Style) 

Judging Locations and Dates

Austin Beerworks
3001 Industrial Terrace, Austin, TX 78758
Saturday, July 22, 2017 12:00 PM, CDT

Best of Show









Ricardo Fritzsche - Austin ZEALOTS

Ric’s Pale Rider


Runner Up

Mark Schoppe - Austin ZEALOTS

Mark’s Semi-Sweet Hydromel

2nd Runner Up

Dan Ironside - Austin ZEALOTS

Imperial Smoked Porter


The awards ceremony will take place once judging is completed.

Places will be awarded to 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place in each category.

The 1st place entry in each category will advance to the Best of Show (BOS) round with a single, overall Best of Show beer selected, plus a Runner-Up, and a 2nd Runner-Up.

Additional prizes may be awarded to those winners present at the awards ceremony at the discretion of the competition organizers.

See for details on the award ceremony.  We invite all entrants to attend!!

Awards Ceremony

Emma Long Park
Austin, Tx
Saturday, August 12, 2017 2:00 PM, CDT

Circuit Qualification

This event is part of the Lone Star Circuit.